top of page

History of the South Island Formula Ford Club

The South Island Formula Ford Club was founded in 1981 and organises various championships for Formula Ford racing cars in the South Island - aimed at providing affordable and enjoyable racing for single seater racing enthusiasts.

This racing is excellent for young drivers starting out on a motor racing career and is certainly essential to gain experience prior to competing in the full National Formula Ford championship.

Formula Ford has existed for 40 years and is recognised around the world as the proving ground for budding young champions. The SIFF caters for all ages of Formula Ford cars in the championship classes.

The championships are held over 6 race meetings (each of 3 races) at each of the three South Island motor racing circuits - Ruapuna, Levels and Teretonga.

Championships are contested for the following classes:

Class 3 - cars up to 1983
Class 2 - cars 1984 - 1988
Class 1 - cars 1989 - present
Pre 93 - cars up to 1993
Overall - all cars

bottom of page