top of page

Formula Ford - Class History

Formula Ford began at Brands Hatch in England in 1967 and has become an important international formula for the development of young talent. It is an essential formula for young drivers commencing motorsport or kart drivers progressing through the system - as well as being affordable for all. The first Formula Ford championship ever held in the UK, was won by an Australian, Tim Schenken, new CAMS Motor Racing manager.


Nine World Formula One Champions learnt their racecraft in Formula Ford - Emerson Fittapaldi, James Hunt, Jody Scheckter, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Ayrton Senna, Jacques Villeneuve, Mikka Hakkinen and Michael Schumacher. Many current and former Formaula One drivers also began their careers in this category.


The first New Zealand Formula Ford Champion was David Oxton driving an Elfin 600 in 1972. Many Formula Ford series winners have been successful in other formulae including Craig Baird, Ashley Stichbury, Scott Dixon, LeRoy Stevenson, Fabian Coulthard, Jonny Reid, Daniel Gaunt, Richie Stanaway and Andre Heimgartner.
South Island Formula Ford Champions include Jason Richards, Brent Collins and Daniel Gaunt. Other well known New Zealand drivers who have competed successfully in Formula Ford include Ken Smith, Dave McMillan, Paul Radisich, Greg Murphy, Simon Wills, John Crawford, Andy Neale and Ross Stone.
David Oxton is a former New Zealand Grand Prix winner and 5 times New Zealand Gold Star single seater champion.
Scott Dixon has had a successful career since graduating from Formula Ford - Australian Formula Holden champion, Indy Lights champion, Indy Racing League champion.

bottom of page