

Formula Ford

11 World F1 Champions



Forty Two Years of New Zealand and International Motor Racing History

An introduction to the South Island Formula Ford Club and the 2014/15 racing season.

www.siff.co.nz



Formula Ford – General Information

Formula Ford began at Brands Hatch (England) in 1967 and has been an important formula for aspiring drivers ever since. The first Formula Ford championship was won by Australian, Tim Schenken driving a Merlyn MK 11. Like many Formula Ford drivers, Tim progressed to Formula One.

World Champions Eleven World Formula One Champions learnt their race craft in Formula Ford; - Emerson Fittapaldi, James Hunt, Jody Schecter, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Ayrton Senna, Jacques Villeneuve, Mikka Hakkinen, Michael Schumacher, Kimi Räikkönen, and Jenson Button. Many current and former Formula One drivers also began their careers in this category.

The New Zealand Connection The first New Zealand Formula Ford Champion was David Oxton driving an Elfin 600 in 1972. Many Formula Ford Championship winners have been successful in other formulae including Craig Baird, Ashley Stitchbury, Scott Dixon, Fabian Coultard, Jonny Reid, Ritchie Stanaway, Shane Van Gisbergen, Andre Heimgartner and James Munro.

The South Island Formula Ford Club provides an excellent starting point for new drivers. Previous SIFF Champions include, Jason Richards, Brent Collins, Daniel Gaunt and Andre Heimgartner, Other well know New Zealand drivers who have competed successfully in Formula Ford include Ken Smith, Paul Radisich, Greg Murphy, John Crawford, Andy Neale, Ross Stone, Mitch Evans, Brendon Hartley and James Munro.

Getting Started in Formula Ford

Cars are available from \$15,000.00. A well maintained car will hold its value and may appreciate. Running costs for a Formula Ford range from \$6,000.00 per SIFF season upwards including entry fees, maintenance and running costs; excluding damage and travelling to events. SIFF members of all ages run their own cars with family and friends helping out. Drivers must belong to a local car club and hold a NZ driving and racing licence.

Formula Ford – The Cars

Formula Ford cars comply with rules designed to control costs and ensure the cars are as equal as possible so driver skill becomes the major factor in achieving success.

Chassis The cars have tubular space frame construction built within maximum dimensions. Exotic materials are prohibited. The aim is to maximise torsional rigidity and minimise weight whilst maintaining high safety levels.

Tyres A grooved racing tyre is used for the best grip under all weather conditions. The type and brand of tyre is specified.

Engine The normally aspirated Ford 1600 Kent four cylinder engine with crossflow head is used and tuned to meet the regulations. Components and measurement are specified to provide similar performance.

Suspension Full racing car suspension designs are used to give maximum tyre grip at various speeds. Chassis balance is adjustable, controlled by dampers, springs and anti-roll bars.

Gearbox With four forward gears, ratios can be changed to suit various circuits and conditions.

Brakes Four wheel disc brakes have independent front and rear activation with an adjustable bias control.

Safety Include chassis requirements, roll hoop, front and side protection and material specification. Fireproof clothing, safety harness, racing helmet and neck restraint regulations apply.

Aerodynamic Devices These are not permitted. Down force is limited to the combination of chassis design, chassis set-up and tyre grip, together with gravity.

Competition Details

National Championship

The New Zealand Formula Ford Championship is contested over approximately 6 rounds annually as part of the tier 1 Motorsport New Zealand series; three events on South Island circuits followed by three further events across North Island circuits. Competitors race in one of three classes for a variety of awards including the prestigious *Over-all New Zealand Formula Ford Championship Title*. Many drivers enter both the National Championship and the SIFF Championship. The two racing calendars have been aligned to enable this attractive option to work.

Ace Hire South Island Formula Ford Championship

This championship series visits the three main South Island circuits twice over the summer months – Ruapuna (Chch), Levels (Timaru) and Teretonga (Invercargill). Ace Hire (Ferry Road Christchurch) sponsors the event and this provides drivers with an extra incentive across all three racing classes. Three classes cater for modern racing cars through to the older historic cars from the 1970s and 80s.

Go to <u>www.siff.co.nz</u> to view images, locate the membership registration form and to find out more.

2014/15 Ace Hire SIFF Championship Dates

Come and enjoy the racing

Round 1	Ruapuna,	Christchurch	Club Day 2	5 October
Round 2	Levels	Timaru	National Series	14/15 November
Round 3	Teretonga	Invercargill	Register Meeting	6/7 December
Round 4	Ruapuna	Christchurch	National Series	16 - 18 January
Round 5	Teretonga	Invercargill	National Series	23 – 25 January
Round 6	Levels	Timaru	Club Meeting	28 March

How to join the South Island Formula Ford Club

Go to - <u>www.siff.co.nz</u> for membership forms and information or contact Steve Edwards – 021 283 4741.